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Written by Mathew Tucker on
December 12th, 2014
. 12 Comments

Over and over people ask us how to
conquer the Global of Professor X in
Uncanny X-Men. The first answer is
in the form of a question: Why? The
second answer — a bit delayed - is
usually something no one wants to
hear. So, Shawn and I worked
through some points people might
be missing. We hope it helps. We
have co-authored this article to
spread some light on this Global.
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On Oct 22nd

o Tt &

J (oops, I
mean Oct.
29th)
Wizkids

” When fielded, search your bag for up to 2 5
Sidekick dice and roll them. :

Global: Pay . Move up to 2 Sidekick re 1 €ase d d

dice from your used pile to your prep area.

card that
would

forever
change the state of the game. All
builds have changed. Characters
with 7 costs can be purchased on
turn 2 or 3. The mindset of keeping
your sidekicks on the table, has
changed, sidekicks are now better



off in your bag, or in the Used Pile.
Whole turns are based around how
many Masks get rolled. In some of
the WKO drafts, (where only AVX
Basic Action Cards were allowed,
with UXM as the drafted set) whole
games were played and won without
purchasing a character. They would
purchase only Power Bolts. Granted,
the change to the Used Pile, adding

in the “Transition Zone” can be part

of the reason, but we now have a
more clearly defined time as to

when a turn ends.

I’m slightly confused why people
don’t like this Global. I’ve heard


http://dicemasters.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/09/Dice-Masters-Rules-Update-USED-PILE.pdf

everything from “the shuffling of
dice every turn is getting annoying,”
to “I just want a better game.” What
does the latter even mean? I

understand the former... mostly.

The state of the

game before the
Prof. X Global (PXG)

HugeDomains Maybe it’s

Shop for Over 200,000 Premium Domains

been so long
we’ve all forgotten what it was like
not to have any PXG around. Let me
be the first to remind you of this
past hell:



Let’s see, Distraction, Beast, and a
taunt from someone such as Mr.
Fantastic. Oh wow, did we all just
love these 50 minute games.
#sarcasm

There were all of two real ways to
churn dice in AVX: Beast and the
Johnny Storm/Quasar combo. The
rest were just plain silly, or
inefficient. Sure Silver Surfer did
churn also, and was great at
triggering Hulk, but we’re talking
about real churn, not killing one’s
self from said churn.



Prior to PXG, one would set up a
Beast wall then force an opposing
character to attack and block with
all Beasts, distract the attacker back
and churn an inordinate amount of
dice. Twenty seven turns later,
maybe someone won... Maybe time
was called!

The Significance of
PXG

This is real churn. Yes, the
“shuffling” of dice might be
annoying. However, being able to
have more than one 6+ cost card on



a team, and being able to purchase
that card any given game is
something only realized with PXG’s
consistency.

Maybe some aren’t fully
understanding how to utilize this
Global. Here are some standard rules
of thumb:



./,'Recrui'ting Young Muiants

N\

> When fielded, search your bag for up to 2
Sidekick dice and roll them.

Global: Pay & Move up to 2 Sidekick
dice from your used pile to your prep area.

There is this one.


http://www.diceanon.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/10/UXM-049.jpg

Whi e Professor X is active, your Sidekicks
+1A and +1D (no matter how many
- Professor X dice you have fielded).
Global: Pay . Move up to 2 Sidekick
dice from your used pile to your prep area.

Then this one.
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If you are cool, you might even have
one of these.

What does the Global
mean? What does it
do?

Pay 1 Mask, move up to 2 Sidekick
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dice to the Prep Area.

With the cost of 1 Mask, you can add
2 to the amount of dice you can add
to your dice in the next turn. This is
a basic 2 for 1, and sometimes even
a 1 for 1. In extreme cases, this

might even be a 1 for 0.

Mask = Shenanigans. The Mask is
definitely the energy type for
making crazy things happen. There
are several abilities that a Mask can
trigger, here are a few of the popular
ones:

e The ability to move a blocker



out of the way

e Stop an attacker in his tracks

e Taunt a character to be forced
to attack

e Turn a villain into energy

e and now with Xavier, move
up to 2 sideckics to the Prep
Area 2

How does it work?

During a step where a Global can be
used (or before that point) announce
to the other player that you will be
using a Global. Once the priority is
yours (if applicable), pay 1 Mask
energy to move up to 2 sidekick dice



from your used pile to your Prep
Area. The Global can be repeated.
However, according to the Rules
addition from WizKids regarding the
Transition Zone, there are a few
stipulations when targeting dice in
the Used Pile.

Helpful Advice.

e If you have another energy
type from a sidekick die in
your Reserve Pool, and you
are able to use it, use it before
using PGX.

e e.g.:if you have a bolt and
a Mask in your reserve
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pool, and access to a
Global that costs a bolt,
use the Global, spending
the bolt first. This gives
you access to that sidekick
die as an additional target
for the PXG if needed.

e If your opponent is saving a
ton of Masks to use PXG with,
clearly announce that you are
done with your Main Step. If
your opponent does not use
the Global, determine if
it might be better off to not
attack and force your
opponent to waste their
energy, rather than ramp up



to a larger energy pool on the
following turn. This might
look like a jerk move, but as
long as you are clear in
letting the opponent know
you were done with your
main step and your opponent
did not use a Global, your
opponent is the one
attempting to bend the rules
if they chooses to go back to
your main step.

If you do not declare an
Attack Step and instead
simply end your turn after
declaring the end of your
Main Step, then it is bypassed



completely and there is no
opportunity for your
opponent to use their dice for
Globals at that point.

If you have a non-sidekick die
with Mask energy, and a
sidekick die with Mask
energy, always use the
sidekick die first. This gives
you an opportunity to get
more targetable dice into the
Used Pile to use for PXG.

The Global can be used to
move 0, 1, or 2 sidekick dice.
If you have multiple Sidekick
dice in the reserve, you can
spend 1 of them to move “up



to 2 sideckicks”. With 0
sidekicks, this would seem
like a waste, but if you can
use your other Mask energy
to move sidekicks, this could
be important.

e e.g: 1 have no dice in the
used but I have 3 sidekick
dice rolled into Masks in
the Reserve Pool. If I have
nothing else to spend
them on, I should use the
first one to activate the
PXG and move nothing,
now my second and third
Masks have targets and I
guarantee two sidekick



dice in the Reserve Pool
on the next turn.
¢ You should be Ramping! I can
hardly think of a time where
it’s better to spend the energy
on something over saving 1-2
Sidekicks and paying for the
Global.

e It’s simple math! I save
one, I get two. Unless
you’re purchasing your
win-condition, you should
be ramping, not spending.
Eventually your dice will
fall right, and you’ll get
just what you wanted.
Purchase then!



e If you’re rolling with less
than 6 dice every turn, you're
doing it wrong. I consistently
roll with 7-8 dice... if not 10
dice per turn. Every turn. Yes
there are exceptions, but for
general purposes, just keep

rolling more dice!

When do you do it?

“So, I’'m gonna do the thing”

Tell me we’ve all heard or said this! I
watch Hangout games and I realized
it wasn’t just us Americans saying
this. When anyone uses the PXG



they seem to always say “I’'m gonna
do the thing,” or “aaaand, the
thing.” It’s hilarious!

The Global can be used at any time a
Global can be played. Keeping in
mind used energy goes to transition
on your turn, and there is no
transition during an opponent’s
turn, the opponent’s turn would be
the ideal time to use the ability.
There might be a reason other than
that time to use it, but it definitely
works best during the opponent’s
turn. This has created a false
presumption of there being

an “end of your turn” part of the



turn. Let us be perfectly clear.
There is not! This is not Magic.
Those rules do not apply

directly. Instead, this is done during
the opponent’s Main

Step preferably, after the active
player has finished all actions and
passes precedence the the inactive

player.

With that being said, both players
have 2 parts of a turn that Globals
can be used. The Main Step, and the
Attack Step. If there is no Attack
Step, there is no opportunity for the
inactive player to use Globals. So,
the inactive player should always



use this Global during the main step,
unless there is certainty that the
active player will attack. Once the
active player announces the end of
the main step, if an attack does not
happen, the inactive player cannot
go back and decide to use Globals
after the fact. All is fair in love and
war, if the active player
announces the end of the main
step and the inactive player
chooses to save enrgy for the
Attack Step, and an attack does
not happen, the energy is lost,
Clear and Draw.



How to counter PXG

1. Don’t bring it! This seems
simple enough, but if you
don’t want a Global available,
see to it you don’t bring that
Global yoursellf.

2. Know how to use it better
than your opponent. Utilizing
some of the ideas above, do
not let the opponent out-
ramp you.

3. Bring the Global-slower-

downer:



While Professor X is active, your
opponent cannot use actions or global
abilities. He or she can pay 2 life to
prevent this effect for the rest of the turn.

e It’s not perfect. This is
known. However, once he
is out, their Global either
comes to a crashing stop,
or they kill themselves
paying two life every turn.
Both options are good in
my book!

4. Hope and pray they don’t
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have it...?

I wish there were solid Global
counters, however, this early in the
game’s infancy, we just don’t have it
yet!

As for now, go play and enjoy that
which is with us to stay!

May the rolls be forever in your
favor,

Mathew~ (and Shawn)
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Previous
Post:

a decade. I love board
games such as Risk, Axis
and Allies, and Game of
Thrones TBG. I used to be
heavy into RPG's and the
such on consoles and
PC/Mac, but as time goes
by and the family
supersedes the gaming
part of me, I stick to more
casual games I can play in
15-20 minutes.

All posts by Mathew
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A Rant — Quick

Uncanny Report: A
Storm is Spin on the
anything Rainbow
but... Draft Rules

12 comments:

E Shawn says:

December 12, 2014 at 5:35 AM

We call using the PXG, the Professor
X shuffle

Reply

E Mathew Tucker says:
December 13, 2014 at 1:08 AM

That’s awesome! I love it. I’ve
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heard it called a dance, but I like
the shuffle!

Reply

JBWX says:
December 13, 2014 at 12:13 PM

Mathew, I completely agree. Multiple
times I’ve reminded my opponents
that technically they cannot perform
the forgotten use of a global in either
my Main Step or after Blockers are
Assigned.

The interaction creates an
assumption that other globals can be
played at the end of the turn too.
Which they cannot.

This single global has forced our play
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group and others to state “ending my
Main Step” to help our opponents
know that their only chance to play
the global may pass.

The same goes with the Attack Step.
After Blockers are assigned we make
sure that there are no other globals to
be played.

Great Article. It seems that you have
generated some responses and
thoughts on this too. Good Stuff.

Reply

E Mathew Tucker says:
December 14, 2014 at 1:33 AM

You’ve hit the nail on the head!
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Reply

Riptide says:
December 14, 2014 at 8:06 AM

Another excellent article. It hits all
the important aspects of how to use
PXG. I also like the shuffle name.

I have a small dislike (not an outright
hatred) of the global, just because it
is so much more powerful than other
abilities that your first question when
building a deck isn’t even if you
should include it, but how you are
going to abuse it. Now this is still an
improvement over the old meta game
(as yall noted above), but hopefully it
will be alleviated somewhat in future
sets.
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Reply

Mortikal says:
January 7, 2015 at 7:21 AM

I can’t seem to find it in the rules. I
believe there is still an attack step
even If I choose not to attack. So
there would still be an opportunity to
use globals. I could be wrong but
would like to be pointed to the
correct reference material.

Reply

Nicholas Pham says:
January 7, 2015 at 11:31 AM

Page 8 of the Uncanny X-Men
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rulebook under *Declare Attackers.

You can send all, some, or none of your
characters to attack. If you do not
attack, your turn immediately ends
(neither player can use Global Abilities
in this case).

Reply

Kyle says:
January 26, 2015 at 10:34 AM

Hi guys, great article. I have a
concern, though. Towards the
bottom, your article says:

Keeping in mind used energy
goes to transition on your turn,
and there is no transition during
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an opponent’s turn, the
opponent’s turn would be the
ideal time to use the ability.

But in the Rules addition from
WizKids regarding the Transition
Zone, on page 2, it talks about a
player (Liz) who activates PXG on her
opponent’s turn.

She can move another 2
Sidekicks from her Used Pile to
her Prep Area. She can’t move
the die she spent for the Global
Ability. It isn’t available as a
target in her Used Pile when she
activates the Global Ability, it’s
In transition.

According to this, doesn’t that mean
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transition WILL happen for you on
both your turn AND your opponents
turn?

Reply

E Mathew Tucker says:
January 26, 2015 at 1:59 PM

Kyle, I’'m so glad I want the only
one that thought exactly that
due to the wording they use, but
no. It’s essentially stating that
you can not Target the same die
you use to purchase.
http://wizkidseventsystem.com/
bb/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=1624

Reply
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Kyle says:
February 9, 2015 at 7:53 AM

Hey Matt, I was listening to Podcast
#2 this morning and heard you bring
up this question. Thanks very much
for answering this. Your explanation
makes sense. Seems like I was making
it more confusing for myself, just as
you mentioned.

Reply

E Mathew Tucker says:
February 9, 2015 at 8:51 AM

Ha ha. It happens. This is kind of
the definitive guide. Then you
just play from there and see
what your dice roll and how your
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team stacks.

[ will say this. I’ve found odd
numbers to be nicer to my pxg
ramp than even when it comes
to ha factor purchase costs. 3
cost characters just work really
well, where two sometimes leave
a foul energy in my reserve.

Reply

E Asher Day says:
February 23, 2015 at 11:09 AM

This PXG is awesome! Im just not
sure I understand why dice purchased
with it during opponents turn don’t
move to the used pile during my next
“clear and draw” step. All other dice
in the prep area are cleared at this
point. What makes these an
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exception to that rule for these die?

Reply
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