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There has been a topic which
recently generated a lot of
discussion on Facebook and a few
other venues. It deals with playing
the steps of a turn appropriately,
more specifically the Main Step (and
sometimes the Attack Step though
we’ll go into that more in Part 2).
Previously when I first created the
site, I wrote this. While still a good
reference, it’s hugely outdated with

http://www.diceanon.com/author/mathew/
http://www.diceanon.com/main-step-timing-conflicts-pt1/
http://www.diceanon.com/main-step-timing-conflicts-pt1/#comments
http://www.diceanon.com/watch-your-steps/


the introduction of the PXG and so
many other new Globals. With that
being stated, it would be beneficial
for the Main Step to be broken down
a little more thoroughly.

The Rules:
The rule book explains the sub-steps
of the Main Step in very simple
terms on the last page shown as a
Recap:
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This is the
most rudimentary guideline for this
step. Breaking it down further
shows there is a lot more to
understand. The rules first start by
stating these actions (or sub-steps
of the Main Step) can be mixed up in
any order preferred:

Casual vs.
Tournament Play



Now for Casual Play, the rules do not
break down enough of the what-if’s.
For Tournament Play however, the
rules become a little more strict and
seem to give a bit more information
when dealing with ambiguity.



There are a few items of note. By
more closely examining the
paragraph starting “In tournament
play, the active player…” we start to
dissect the Main Step a little more
thoroughly. I will borrow this from a
thread on BGG in which Crambaza
explains priority passing. I’ve
changed a few words slightly:

1. The active player takes as few
or as many and all actions
they want.

2. The active player must then
pass priority to the inactive
player.

3. The inactive player can

http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1270168/advanced-timing-make-sure-you-are-doing-it-right-i


“either perform an action or
[pass]” (singular).

4. If the inactive player
performed an action, return
to number 1,

5. If the inactive player passed,
then the active player can
either choose to return to
step 1, or pass themselves. If
the active player passes, then
the Main Step is over.

Numbers 1-4 are repeated as many
times as necessary until #5 is
actually performed.

So how have many of us been



playing? For the most part I have
heard a lot of this going on. I’ve
been an offender myself:

“I am ending my main
step if you want to do
anything…”

While still appropriate, there is a
whole level of strategy being missed.

There might be times where we need
to see what our opponent will do, if
anything, before making a move.



Now they can still have their own
strategy also, by calling our bluff,
but this allows for some fun
interactions.

Example A:

The active player has multiple
characters to field, a Wolverine –
Canucklehead and a Professor X -
Powerful Telepath among them, but
does not have enough energy to
field them both. Their opponent has
3 masks in Reserve and enough
sidekicks in Used to pay for 3x PXG.
The opponent may want to save a
mask to use the Distraction Global



they brought. The active player
should pass priority without fielding
any characters here and do one of
three equally viable moves
depending on what their opponent
does.

1. If the opponent passes priority
right back, wanting to see which
character the active player will field,
the active player should consider
doing nothing and end the turn.
Missing a turn of PXG use in the late
game is very damaging. This option
is possible if we assume the energy
the active player has available to
field with is mask energy which



could be used for PXG or Distraction
instead.

2. If the opponent uses all 3 masks
on PXG and passes priority back, the
active player would field
Canucklehead instead of Powerful
Telepath. It would likely take at least
3 turns before Powerful Telepath can
deal the same damage as a
Canucklehead.

3. If the opponent uses only 2 masks
on PXG and passes priority back, the
active player would field Powerful
Telepath. Canucklehead would
simply be targetted by a Distraction



Global should they choose to field
him (forcing Distractions is viable in
some cases though). Once Powerful
 Telepath is fielded, your opponent
must decide whether or not the 3rd
PXG use is worth 2 life.

Example B:

The active player has just rolled
multiple characters and not much
energy. Their opponent has 3 masks.
PXG and Distraction are available. If
the active player passes priority to
the inactive player with so much
unused dice in his Reserve Pool, the
inactive player should call his bluff.



The inactive player should use a
single PXG before passing priority
back because they only needed a
maximum of 2x PXG to stay safe and
they don’t want the active player
just ending the turn by not doing
anything.

Example C:

The active player is just short of
lethal damage because the opponent
has 3 masks with which to use
Distraction. Their opponent needs
to use all 3 masks on Distraction to
not die to an all out attack. The
active player passes priority and



promptly has it passed back to them.
Attacking with all of his characters
and failing to win the game puts him
at risk of losing the game himself.
He can safely attack with just two
Tsarina dice for easy damage
though. This would seem smart, but
in reality would be the incorrect
move. If the active player does this,
the opponent will be able to safely
use all 3 masks on PXG. Being able
to roll an extra 6 dice the next turn
greatly increases the opponent’s
chance of pulling the game from
behind. The active player should end
the turn. Once again, that lost PXG
ramp is game changing in the late



game.

Real Game Play
In reality, no one needs to be so
formal the game is stale and
cumbersome. However, rules are
rules. Executing the rules to your
advantage should be a standard.

When does the Main
Step [finally] end?
The biggest thing to keep in mind is
the Main Step is never over until the
active player says it’s over and only
after they’ve given the inactive



player the opportunity to take an
action and they passed.

Am I a Jerk for
calling it early?
That’s really dependent about how
you go about doing it!

This back and forth might go on for
a few times, or simply once. It
depends on what the inactive player
does, but it might behoove the
active player to cut it all short if the
inactive player simply passes
prematurely. If the inactive player is
holding on to multiple Masks for



PXG or the Distraction Global, and
the active player gives them priority
and they do nothing, the active
player might really want to weigh
the option of just cutting the turn
short. This eliminates the inactive
player’s option of playing PXG, or
any other Globals for that matter.

We at Diceanon encourage you to
exploit strategic mistakes, not rules
ignorance. If your opponent has no
logical reason for passing priority
back to you instead of using PXG,
it’s simply good form to double
check if they know the rules. If they
don’t, please take time to explain to



explain how doing so would waste
the masks they saved. If they didn’t
know the rules, you should be able
to outplay them anyways. We don’t
want our opponents walking away
angry at the game’s rules. Making
sure your opponent knows the tools
you both have available to you does
not mean they will be able to figure
out how to leverage it in time. We
sincerely hope our articles help
people learn how to leverage turn
sequence well enough they can win
games fairly, and in good form.

Part 2:



We’ll discuss the Attack Step and
priority passing/timing conflicts in
part 2. We’ll go into a bit more detail
with actual examples I’ve had from
personal game play.

Until then, Merry Christmas, and
may the rolls be ever in your favor!

If you’re looking for a great read not
necessarily about priority, but
simply about the Attack Step broken
down in general, head over to
Dicemastersrules, this one is a
doozy!

Share this:
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games such as Risk, Axis
and Allies, and Game of
Thrones TBG. I used to be
heavy into RPG's and the
such on consoles and
PC/Mac, but as time goes
by and the family
supersedes the gaming
part of me, I stick to more
casual games I can play in
15-20 minutes.
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10 comments:
JBWx says:
December 27, 2014 at 9:05 AM 

Well done sir! Every new player
should see this. I’m working up an
Attack Step attempt myself. Using
Hulk Green Goliath… frightening I
know.

Reply
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Tom says:
June 28, 2015 at 5:39 PM 

So i am reading over and over the DC
Rulebook and this Sentence makes no
sense to me. “The active player
should end the turn. Once again, that
lost PXG ramp is game changing in
the late game.”

Mathew Tucker says:
December 28, 2014 at 9:41 PM 

Yeah, i don’t even want to get
into Hulk GG yet. I think we’re
going to focus on getting new
players up and running first.

Reply
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Because in the attack step after
Blockers are declared and i used
maybe an action die, both players can
using Globals with me first in priority
for Timing Conflicts. So i dont
understand this “shut down your
mainstep if possible”? Can someone
help me to understand that, or was it
at this time just like that for the rules
and nowadays this strategic element
is not worth to mention anymore?

Greetings and thanks in advance

Tom

Reply

Mathew Tucker says:
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Tom says:
July 7, 2015 at 10:02 AM 

June 30, 2015 at 8:17 AM 

Tom, basically I’m referring to a
scenario where you end the turn
after the main step and you do
not attack. If there is no attack,
there is no attack step. So if you
are someone holding on to
masks, and they don’t use them
all in your main step, you have
the option of simply ending your
turn. This stops an attack step
from happening and they lose
out on the opportunity to play
any more globals because there
is no attack step at that point.

Reply
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Thanks Mathew, yeah i was reading it
some days later on my own and than i
fully understand that.

Thanks to you guys i did win a 1
Lifepoint game changer like you at
the Worlds.

I asked my opponent if he wanted to
do something in his Main step, he
said “no” and passed to me. I used the
Iceman Too Cool for Words Global,
took away my Sidekicks for Magic
Missile and KOd his Ant-mans and
Punisher. And next round i attacked
with Nova The Human Rocket and
burned him to defeat.

Reply
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jazrock says:
August 4, 2015 at 1:56 PM 

What happens in this situation:

Main step.

-Player A is the active player. He
fields a character and passes the
priority to Player B.

-Player B has 3 masks and decides to
PXG only once because he feels the
threat of an incoming attack and
passes priority back to Player A.

-Player A decides to do nothing.

Does Player A still need to pass the
priority back to Player B? or can he
end the step here?

The steps above assume that if the

http://www.diceanon.com/main-step-timing-conflicts-pt1/#comment-6494


conditions of step 4 is met, it goes
back to step 1 where the active player
does someting. But what if Player A
does nothing?

Reply

Mathew Tucker says:
August 5, 2015 at 1:47 PM 

Because Player B did something,
Player A can’t just end the step.
Player A has to pass back again.
If Player B does nothing and
passes back, Player A can then
end the step.

Reply
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jazrock says:
August 6, 2015 at 5:49 AM 

Thanks for the reply! I just had one
more question though.. When the
active players passes priority to the
inactive player, can the inactive
player perform a series of global
abilities before passing back priority
or just one? I noticed in the steps
listed, it says the inactive player can
perform an action.

Reply

Mathew Tucker says:
August 7, 2015 at 12:20 AM 

This was actually debated
heavily at worlds. They basically
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jazrock says:
August 6, 2015 at 5:56 AM 

Sorry, ignore my reply. It IS singular,
so it should only be one global. This
is actually the part where we have
been doing things wrong.. lol.. But
thanks Mat! Everything is clear now 

ruled it this way, if they want to
perform multiple and the active
player doesn’t care to stop them,
they can play them all. But the
active player can stop them to
do anything they want at any
point in between. It’s honestly
very rarely a worry.

Reply
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